• 1

Cape May Point is governed under The Walsh Act, enacted in 1911, which requires commissioners be elected at-large in nonpartisan elections and serve four-year, concurrent terms of office.  At the reorganization meeting, the Mayor is chosen by the three Commissioners and each Commissioner is assigned a department as defined by the Act.  In three-member Commissions like Cape May Point, the departments are: Public Affairs and Public Safety; Revenue and Finance; and Public Works, Parks and Public Property.

The Commissioners have all Executive, Administrative, Judicial, and Legislative powers over their respective departments.  As a group, the Commissioners have complete control over all affairs of the municipality.  Mayoral duties include chairing municipal meetings and general oversight of community affairs. Our currently serving officials and their departments are shown below.

Borough Meetings are held at 6:00 P.M. the second Thursday (unless otherwise noted on the schedule) of each month in the Firehall on Yale Avenue.*

Work Sessions are held the fourth Tuesday each month (unless otherwise noted on the schedule) at 12:00 P.M. in the Municipal Building on Lighthouse Avenue.* 

Rules for Public Comment at Board of Commissioners Meetings

The Board of Commissioners welcomes the participation of interested parties during the public portions of its meetings. For the Board to conduct the business of the Borough in the most productive and open manner possible, questions and comments may be limited to four (4) minutes per person. In addition, each person may only speak once per meeting on a single topic. If you wish to address the Board, please raise your hand and the moderator will try to accommodate everyone in the order in which they are recognized.

* All meetings are being held via ZOOM until further notice.  Click here for the annual schedule of meetings.

Robert Moffatt, Mayor, Commissioner of Public Safety & Public Affairs
Police Department
Volunteer Fire Department
Code Enforcement & Rental Insp
Beach Director

Health Department
Animal Control
Municipal Prosecutor
Municipal Public Defender

Anita VanHeeswyk, Deputy Mayor, Commissioner of Revenue & Finance
Borough Clerk / Administrator
Financial Officer
Information Technology
Tax Assessor
Tax Collection
Planning & Zoning Board

Construction Code and Zoning
Borough Auditor
Borough Attorney
Sub-code Officials
Floodplain Coordinator

Catherine Busch , Commissioner of Public Works, Parks & Public Property

Public Works Supervisor
Borough Engineer
Recycle Coordinator
Clean Communities Coordinator

Beach Protection Coordinator
Water & Sewer Utility
Emergency Management
Environmental Commission

  • News & Events Quick Link
  • Our Environment Quick Link
  • Beach Services Quick Link